Writers

10 RULES FOR WRITERS

by Akumbu Uche

I may not be successful enough to publish a guidebook for writers a la Stephen King or famous enough to warrant a slot on the UK Guardian’s Rules for Writers Series but I think I too have some sage advice to dole out on the topic so here goes:

  1. Read, read, read a lot; read outside your comfort zone.
  2. Keep a diary/journal – it is excellent practice.
  3. Invest in a dictionary and thesaurus.
  4. Study a new language; it helps improve your current one.
  5. Write your first drafts in longhand. That way, you won’t be distracted by the Word Count feature on your computer.
  6. When you feel blocked, use a different colour pen.
  7. If you are still blocked, try dictating into a recording device. It’s really good for those times when you don’t know how to structure or arrange your thoughts.
  8. Drugs and excessive alcohol won’t make you a more creative person.
  9. Oxygen is great for the brain; make physical exercise a daily priority.
  10. Don’t be in a rush to publish.
One thought on “10 RULES FOR WRITERS

  1. I love the “use a different colour pen” advice. My favorite pen, and in fact the only one I use is one of those with 4 colour options. It is so fun to play around with it even when I’m just taking notes. ¡Beautify the paper, and let them juices flow!
    The longhand advice is different. it sounds sort of romantic, and would be if only I had cursive flowy handwriting. I much prefer a word processor any day anytime. But then again, I am more of a ‘the shorter the better’ type of person when it comes to writing, and so the word count is an issue for me

Leave a Reply

